Thursday 18 August 2022

CAM Sugar presents newly remastered album of Nino Rota’s timeless score for La Dolce Vita

25-track album released on 2LP vinyl, CD and all digital platforms by CAM Sugar, including 14 tracks previously unreleased on vinyl/digital

Includes previously unreleased vocal version of the main theme performed by Katyna Ranieri

Soundtrack fully restored and remastered from the original master tapes

Nino Rota’s timeless score for Federico Fellini’s Oscar-winning masterpiece La Dolce Vita is presented by CAM Sugar in a newly remastered version of the original album with 14 tracks previously unreleased on vinyl and digital. Frequently regarded as one of the greatest films of all time, La Dolce Vita was a watershed moment for Italian cinema globally and this release presents a unique opportunity to hear its iconic score as never before.

La Dolce Vita’s instantly recognisable score has been fully restored and remastered from the original master tapes. A highlight includes a previously unreleased vocal version of the main theme performed by Katyna Ranieri – currently being used as the soundtrack to the latest international FIAT 500 advert starring Leonardo Di Caprio. Blending jazz, rock and roll, Latin rhythms and circus music, the score perfectly captures the glamorous, jet-setting Roman nightlife as well as the solitude and dissatisfaction depicted in Fellini’s opus.   

Rota was a prolific composer for film, scoring over 150 during his lifetime and dozens for Fellini’s films - their artistic partnership is one of the most iconic in the history of cinema. Alongside La Dolce Vita, Rota is also known for composing the music for the first two films of Francis Ford Coppola’s Godfather trilogy, the second of which earned him the Academy Award for Best Original Score.

The previously unreleased vocal version of the main theme features Academy Award nominee Katyna Ranieri (who also performed Grammy-winning song “More / Modelle in Blu” from Mondo Cane) singing Dino Verde’s exceptional lyrics which evoke the elegance and frenzy of the Roman cafes and nightclubs on Via Veneto during the Dolce Vita years.

CAM Sugar is the most extensive and representative catalogue of Italian original soundtracks, with over 2000 original scores from over 400 composers. Soundtracks from the archive have won over 500 international awards, including an Oscar for “Best Original Score” for Il Postino. The CAM Sugar team undertakes extensive research to revive and remaster tracks from the archive, 70% of which is currently unreleased. They undertake specialized work to restore original master tapes, reinforcing the legacy of the soundtracks for current and future listeners to enjoy. This release marks a new installment of CAM Sugar’s Heritage series, the label’s collection dedicated to the scores that made the history of Italian cinema.

Check out the following link for more details.


LP Side A

1. Titoli di testa / Canzonetta / Notturno II
2. Cadillac / Arrivederci Roma* / Caracalla's
3. La Dolce Vita (Theme) / In Via Veneto
4. Patricia* / Canzonetta / Entrata dei gladiatori** / Valzer (Parlami di me)***
5. Lola (Yes Sir, That's My Baby)* / Valzer (Parlami di me)** / Stormy Weather***

LP Side B

1. Via Veneto e i nobili
2. Blues / La Dolce Vita dei nobili
3. Notturno e mattutino
4. La Dolce Vita (Theme) / La bella melanconica
5. La Dolce Vita nella villa di Fregene / Can Can / Jingle Bells / Blues / La Dolce Vita (Theme) / Why Wait*
6. La Dolce Vita (Finale)

LP Side C

1. La Dolce Vita (Titoli di testa - Film Version)
2. La Dolce Vita (Original Vocal Version)
3. La Dolce Vita (Mamma Sergio)
4. La Dolce Vita dei nobili (Full Version)
5. Club cinese
6. La Dolce Vita (La Dolce Vita a Caracalla)

LP Side D

1. Arrivederci Roma
2. Parlami di me (Vocal)
3. Marcia dei gladiatori
4. La Dolce Vita (Orgia)
5. La Dolce Vita (Fontana di Trevi)
6. La Dolce Vita (Piazza del Popolo)
7. La Dolce Vita (Night Club)
8. La Dolce Vita (Film Finale)